3 mass shootings, in 15 days, 22 deaths; a look at guns and the law
ARKANSAS (KNWA / KFTA) – Three mass shootings have killed 22 people in the United States since March 16
- March 16: Eight deaths occurred near Acworth / Atlanta, Georgia
- March 22: 10 deaths were in Boulder, Colorado
- March 31: Four deaths occurred in Orange, California
Three different types of weapons were used in each shooting. The guns were legally acquired from the accused Georgia and Colorado shooters. There is no confirmation of the exact type of weapon used in the California shootings other than that a semi-automatic pistol was found at the scene, law enforcement officials said.
The latest: Georgia’s Asian-American lawmaker is calling for change
Semi-automatic 9mm pistol for shooting in Georgia
Glock 9mm semi-automatic pistol. (Getty Images). 21 year old Robert Aaron Long bought this type of gun on the same day as the shooting. Georgia doesn’t have to wait to buy guns. Gun sellers are not required to do a background check for licensed gun owners, but photo identification is required. The Colorado massacre calls for government action against gun death
The AR-15 style pistol used when shooting in Colorado. A Ruger® AR-556
On March 16, suspect Ahmad Al Aliwi, 21, bought this type of weapon six days before the shooting in Boulder, Colorado. Colorado is a state where covert transfers are intended to be made. That said, if you complete the firearms training, background exam, and other requirements, the state will issue you this license. Child under 4 dead when shooting at Orange Business Park; Armed Man in Custody: Police
The mass shooting in Orange, California took place on Wednesday evening, March 31st. Aminadab Gaxiola Gonzalez, 44, has been identified as the man charged with the deaths of four people. Another person is admitted to the hospital. The weapon recovered from the scene was a semi-automatic pistol, according to law enforcement agencies.
BENTON COUNTY GUN WORKS, ROGERS
John Marshall has been involved in weapons – law enforcement and the military – throughout his 45 year professional career. Now he sells guns at Benton County Gun Works and knows guns well.
“Glock makes several models of different sizes, you could have 17 to six rounds,” Marshall said. “Fired with one semi, one pull, one round. You have to let go of the trigger, not like the military who put it in a third position for fully automatic fire. “
There are three positions: safe, semi-automatic and fully automatic (y). Civilians only have access to the first two; The third position is for military use.
The Ruger AR-556 is a pistol with a clamp under 16 inches. Most slide over the pistol grip and sit between the wrist and elbow. The caliber is the same as the 223 and can be shot with the same rifle. “This isn’t a big creepy assault weapon,” Marshall said. “I’ve seen eight- and twelve-year-old girls who used them in competitions.” The cost of a Ruger can go up to $ 800.
Most law enforcement agencies carry an AR-15 rifle, which comes in a variety of sizes. “You need a lot of training if you want to shoot at full force,” said Marshall.
For first-time buyers of AR-15s, Marshall will refer them to someone for basic training if asked to do so. “Last year three women wanted an apprenticeship.”
Marshall believes the greatest foundation [about guns] is user safety. “It won’t shoot until someone loads it,” he said.
Marshall said gun sales have been really good since COVID started last February. “The problem is ammunition. It seems that people are scared and buy it up and hoard it. “
ARKANSAS “CONCEALED CARRY”
Arkansas prohibits the wearing of a weapon on or around the person or in a vehicle in an attempt to unlawfully use the weapon on a person. However, it is permissible to carry a pistol without a license if a person is over eighteen and is on a “trip outside of the county where the person lives”.
Arkansas is a state to be issued. This means that local law enforcement agencies must issue a hidden gun license if the applicant meets certain qualifications. The director of the Arkansas State Police Department (“the Director” and the “State Police”) must issue a license to carry a concealed pistol if the applicant:
Is a United States citizen or legal permanent resident;
Has lived in Arkansas continuously for 90 days or more;
Is 21 years of age or older;
Does not have a mental or physical disability that prevents the safe use of a pistol and has not threatened or attempted suicide;
Has not been convicted of a crime without receiving a pardon and restoration of gun ownership, or having the file sealed or erased for a sentence before March 13, 1995;
Not subject to any federal, state, or local law making receiving, possessing, or transporting firearms unlawful and has successfully completed background checks through the Department of Arkansas State Police and the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System ;;
Does not abuse controlled substances chronically or habitually to the extent that his normal abilities are impaired (i.e. the applicant was voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a treatment facility for the abuse of a controlled substance or found guilty of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, Section 5 -64-101 ff. Or similar laws within the last three years);
Does not consume alcoholic beverages chronically or habitually to the extent that their normal abilities are impaired (i.e., applicant has been admitted to treatment facility, voluntarily or involuntarily, as an alcoholic, or convicted of two or more offenses related to alcohol consumption in the past three years );
Desires a legal means of carrying a hidden pistol to defend yourself;
Has not been classified as mentally incompetent;
Was not voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a psychiatric facility or psychiatric treatment facility;
Is not a refugee from justice or has no active warrant for his or her arrest;
Has satisfactorily completed a training course prescribed and approved by the Director; and
Signs a declaration of allegiance to the United States and Arkansas Constitutions.
The director may refuse a license to carry a hidden handgun if the applicant has been found guilty of one or more violent crimes constituting a misdemeanor or of the offense of carrying a gun in the past five years.5 The director may do the same to refuse a license if the sheriff or police chief of the applicant’s place of residence provides an affidavit that the applicant:
“[A] Danger to themselves or to others or to the community as a whole, as evidenced by past patterns of behavior or participation in an incident involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence, or if the applicant is under criminal investigation at the time of applying for a license to carry a hidden handgun. “
The director has 120 days to review the completed application. During this period, he must issue the license or reject the application only on the grounds that the applicant does not meet the specified criteria.
If the state police are notified by a law enforcement agency or a court of law that a licensee has been found guilty of, or plead guilty to, a crime involving the use of a weapon, or does not deny it, the license will be revoked immediately.8 In addition, the director must obtain the license Revoke a licensee who pleaded guilty or who did not contest or was found guilty of an alcohol-related crime committed while carrying a pistol.
The director may revoke a license if the licensee has been found guilty of one or more violent crimes in the past three years.
Giffords Law Center, updated February 22, 2021
ARKANSAS MASS SHOOTINGS (Source: The Violence Project)
- July 1984. Hot springs. Four people were shot, the 33-year-old shooter shot himself in the heart and died. This happened at the Grand Central Motel Lodge.
- March 1998. Jonesboro. Four students and a teacher were shot dead at Westside Middle School. Two students were convicted of the attack.
According to The Violence Project, there were seven mass shootings in the United States in 2021.
From March 3 to March 23, 2021, there were 52 deaths and more than 120 gun injuries across the country, including incidents in Colorado and Georgia. This is evident from data collected by various law enforcement agencies.
The Gun Violence Archive (GVA) has been tracking data since 2013.
Data from the armed violence archive. A non-profit research group that archives every gun violence incident.
HOW AGENCIES DEFINE “MASS SHOOTING”
A mass shooting is defined as four or more deaths without the shooter, according to the Congressional Research Service (CRS), a legislature within the Library of Congress.
Some agencies, like Stanford University, look at three or more people shot in a case, with the exception of the shooter.
The gun violence archive looks at four or more people who were shot in an incident, with the exception of the shooter, at about the same time in one place.
WHITE HOUSE COMMENT
March 23: First, 10 people were killed and more families were destroyed by gun violence in the state of Colorado.
Less than a week after the horrific murders of eight people and the attack on the AAPI community in Georgia while half the staff was still flying the flag for the tragedy, gun violence and the trauma that resulted in it ravaged another American city.
While we are still waiting for more information on Sagittarius; his motive; The weapons he used – the weapons, the magazines, the weapons, and the modifications that appear to have been made to the weapons at issue – I don’t have to wait another minute, let alone an hour, to take reasonable steps Doing so will save lives in the future and encourage my colleagues in the House and Senate to act.
We can again ban offensive weapons and high-capacity magazines in this country. I did this when I was a senator. It passed. It was law for the longest time and it brought these mass murders to a halt. We should do it again.
The White House: Comments (in part) from President Biden on the Boulder, Colorado shooting.