Do Long Guns Need To Be Registered In California?
Long guns are popular with gun owners, and it’s not difficult to see why, as they increase the shooter’s field of vision and aim more accurately at long range targets. So we won’t be surprised if you bought a model for yourself.
In all fairness, the AR15’s track profiles can matter to some extent, but this is not always the case as it usually depends on your desired application. However, before you look forward to starting building your gun, the first thing you need to know is that you make sure that this model complies with California gun laws.
Should i register it?
Yes, you are required to register all of your guns, whether it is a long gun or not. These types of weapons often fall into the rifle and shotgun category, which require both hands to shoot and are usually rested on the person’s shoulder for support.
Known as “AB 809”, the law was signed by Governor Jerry Brown in 2011 and ordered that all long guns from Jan.
However, if a California resident owned long guns prior to the law, you would not need to register those firearms. This is because the state has no record of these transactions during this period. Conversely, if you recently moved to the state, you are required to register your guns within 60 days.
More importantly, the law has a confusing loophole in that it does not restrict ownership of unregistered long guns as the applications are not outside of your personal residence.
If you want peace of mind, you have the option to fill out a gun possession report or register it anyway to make sure you get the guns back in case they are lost or stolen.
What about inherited weapons, you say? Well, in this situation, you don’t need to apply for a Federal Firearms License (FFL) as it is one of the few exceptions California maintains between a person-to-person transaction and purchasing from an authorized dealer.
However, the heir must obtain legal possession of this estate by completing the intra-family firearms transaction form. But before that, a person should first meet the following requirements:
- The heir is at least 18 years old
- The new owner could provide valid proof of California residency
- The heir rightfully has the weapon in his possession
- The person currently has a Firearms Safety Certificate (FSC) or an FSC exemption under the Criminal Code, Section 31700
- The firearm is not classified as an assault weapon
How long does the process take?
As stipulated in the California Penal Code, the waiting time to process a gun purchase would be approximately ten days, which applies to all types of guns.
The period was intended as a buffer between the completion of the weapon purchase and the acquisition of weapons, which should protect against impulsive armed violence, especially in homicides and suicides with firearms.
Through the waiting time interference, it minimizes the risk that people will react to temporary emotions. In fact, several studies have shown that many suicide survivors only have a short time to weight their actions, typically less than a day, before attempting.
This shows that if not much time had passed, these suicide rates could potentially be higher, since the suicide attempts usually came from hasty, one-off episodes with little to no planning.
Among the estimates in these studies, some have calculated that implementing the waiting time could reduce firearm suicides by 7 to 11%.
The researchers also revealed that some factors that incited violence against other people were caused by short-lived emotions such as anger and anger. Fortunately, the ten-day window could allow law enforcement to do a thorough background check and cut homicide rates by around 17% just by delaying firearm purchases.
How much would it cost?
Calculating the costs associated with registering a gun can be tricky as there may be some additional costs, especially if you are planning on obtaining a Concealed Guns Permit (CCW).
But for this section, we’re going to break down a rough estimate of the expected cost of registration. Of course, these costs do not apply to all and depend on the needs of the buyer:
- CCW Paper Application: From $ 100 to $ 200
- Psychological Rating from CCW: Approximately $ 150 or less
- A Dealer’s Sales Record Fee (DROS): $ 19
- Gun ownership report fee: $ 19
- Family Handgun Transaction Fee: $ 19
- Firearms Safety Certificate (FSC) Fee: USD 25
- Security and Enforcement Fee: $ 5
- New Gun Possession Registration Fee: $ 19
- Fee for the Weapons Safety Act: 1
When we put this together, a gun owner could look forward to pulling about $ 457 out of their pocket!
Overall, it could be said that California gun laws could be quite complex, especially for those new to gun ownership. Fortunately, there are a considerable number of resources available on the state’s official websites to walk you through the entire process.
Thoroughly review the information you read and, if necessary, seek help from an attorney to prevent you from subjecting yourself to an unexpected lawsuit or arrest.